Loughlin FitzGerald, P.C.
call us toll free 866-475-8805
Practice Areas

What are Connecticut’s laws for teenage drivers?

If you are concerned about the risk that teenage drivers pose on the roads in Connecticut, you are not alone. Even the most responsible teenager lacks sufficient experience with which to make critical decisions in what are frequently milliseconds when driving. In addition, many teens are impulsive and immature which can also make them more prone to driving dangerously. All of this adds up to serious dangers when not properly supervised.

It is for these reasons that the State of Connecticut has adopted a graduated approach to licensing teen drivers. The first step in the process for a young driver is to obtain a learner’s permit. This can be done at 16 or 17 years of age. During the time that a permit is held, the teenager may drive only with a licensed parent or guardian or other adult providing driving instruction. No other passengers, including siblings, are allowed.

Upon obtaining a driver’s license, teens are restricted to driving with only parents, guardians or adults 20 years of age and older. No other passengers are allowed yet. Driving is only allowed between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m. with some exceptions. After the first six months, siblings are allowed to be passengers in a teen driver’s vehicle. Upon reaching the age of 18, teens are allowed hands-free use of phones and devices such as GPS units. At this point, teens can drive at any time of the day or night and with any passengers.

This information is not intended to provide legal advice but general information about the graduated approach to drivers’ licenses for teens in Connecticut.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information