Are Connecticut’s OUI penalties tough enough? | Loughlin FitzGerald, P.C.
Loughlin FitzGerald, P.C.
call us toll free 866-475-8805
Practice Areas

Are Connecticut’s OUI penalties tough enough?

If you have been involved in an accident caused by a drunk driver, you will have many questions. Some of those questions can be about liability for damages and medical expenses. Other concerns might be about what type of consequences a person who has caused the drunk driving accident might face. Connecticut’s penalties for convicted drunk drivers were recently updated. The changes took effect on July 1, 2015 according to the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles.

In Connecticut, a drunk driving offense is legally referred to as an OUI or Operating Under the Influence. This can pertain to alcohol or drugs. If you have been hit by a drunk driver and that person is ultimate convicted of OUI charges, the specific penalties he or she may face will depend in part upon their own driving and criminal record.

People convicted of a first-ever OUI offense will lose the right to drive for 45 days. Following that, they will need to use an ignition interlock device for a minimum of 12 months. Drivers who have had one previous OUI conviction will also lose their driving privileges for 45 days. However, these drivers will be required to use IIDs for 36 months. Their driving privileges for the first 12 months will be limited to trips for probation meetings, substance treatment, work or school. Drivers with two previous OUI convictions will have their licenses permanently suspended. After 24 months, they can request a reconsideration.

This information is not intended to provide legal advice but general information about drunk driving penalties in Connecticut.

 

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information