What are Connecticut’s laws on dog bites?

Firm News On Sunday, May 17, 2015

A dog may be a man’s best friend but there are important reasons to make sure that dogs and humans alike are protected against harm. When dogs attack people, the injuries, physical pain and emotional scarring can be severe. A look at a report published by the Connecticut General Assembly on the state’s dog bite laws gives an overview of how Connecticut handles this subject.

For starters, all dog owners should be aware that the state has a published leash law, including while in state parks. This means that dogs should not be allowed to roam freely off leash when away from their homes. Even at home, dogs should be confined to fenced areas to be prevented from roaming freely on either public or other persons’ properties. Violation of this law can result in a fine assessment on the owner.

If a dog attack occurs and it is a first-time event that is not related to the dog defending itself, its home or its owners against perpetrators of a crime or teasing at the owner’s property, the animal will be put into quarantine for 14 days. This can also happen if the animal bite took place on the owner’s property depending upon the circumstances. If an animal attack is perpetrated by a known vicious dog within 12 months of a prior offense, the owner can be subject to six months in jail, a $1,000 fine or even both. Bite victims are not held liable for any injury or death to an animal when it occurs in the process of defending themselves against the animal’s attack.

This information is not intended to provide legal advice but general information about leash dog bite laws in Connecticut.


request your free consultation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.