When you host a party at your Connecticut home, you likely focus on providing an enjoyable evening. However, you may want to pay closer attention to what can happen after your guests leave. We at Loughlin Fitzgerald know that sometimes you may not realize the consequences of being a social host until after the party ends.
Although the legal drinking age is 21, many young people have access to alcohol regardless of age. The National Conference of State Legislatures says that of all people over the age of 12, 11.2 percent report driving while intoxicated. In the 12-20 age range, 24.3 percent of people consumed alcohol in at least one month during 2012.
States have different penalties for supplying alcohol to minors. In Connecticut, you are not allowed to provide minors with alcohol and if you do, you face the possibility of being charged with a misdemeanor if you do. You can also be charged if you do not attempt to prevent minors from accessing alcohol. While you might think this law pertains only to your home, it also extends to any property you own.
Your responsibility as a host does not stop after the party. If a minor or adult is in a car accident after consuming alcohol at your home, you might be held liable for property that is damaged and for the injuries incurred. Additionally, you are responsible for any party which occurs at your home, even if you are not the official host. If your teenager hosts a party and serves alcohol, you may be considered liable for any injuries which are incurred. You can learn more information about your social responsibilities by visiting our web page on the subject.