Drunk driving is a serious concern in Connecticut. According to state officials as many as 39 percent of all vehicular fatalities in the state involve alcohol. Various groups including Mothers Against Drunk Driving continue to look for ways to reduce the number of drunk driving deaths and accidents. This can include awareness campaigns, increased police effort especially over holidays and more.
According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, requiring the use of ignition interlock devices by drivers convicted of driving while intoxicated can lower the number of repeat offenses. In fact, the CDC estimates that such efforts have led to a decrease in repeat offenses by 67 percent. In Connecticut, people who had been convicted of a second or subsequent DUI offense were required to install and use IIDs.
Now, however, any driver who is convicted of a drunk driving offense must install and use an ignition interlock device. This is the result of a new state law that went into effect at the beginning of July. This consequence will be in place for any drunk driving offense even if it does not result in an auto accident or serious injuries. Drivers will have to take a breath test before their vehicles are allowed to start. Any alcohol reading above 0.25 will disable the vehicle and prevent the driver from operating it.
People who are involved in an accident caused by a drunk driver know all too well the long-term impact it can have. From emotional trauma to medical expenses and more, victims suffer greatly. Working with an attorney can be one way of getting help at these times.
Source: WTNH.com, “New Connecticut DUI law goes into effect July 1st,” Morgan Crabtree, Stephanie Simoni and Matt Byunak, June 30, 2015